Swindon U3A

Further Information for the Digital Photography Group

Each meeting is split into two halves by a 'tea' break. The first half will normally be a discussion or presentation and the second half may be either a continuation of the first half or an opportunity to show and discuss members' images on a particular theme.

Date TopicLeader(s)Comment
Fri 15-Jun-18Table top and use of FlashAlexBring along objects that can be used for photographing on a table top
 2x5 SwapBob Berry and David Sore
Fri 13-Jul-18Summer Visit - Cotswold Falconry Centre, GL56 9AB (Near Moreton in the Marsh)AllFalconry opens at 10:30 with flying displays at 11:30, 1:30, 3:00 & 4:30
 If it is raining alternative is British Motor Museum, Gaydon, Warwickshire, CV35 OBJ.All
Fri 10-Aug-18Summer Visit - Bradford on AvonAll
Fri 07-Sep-18TBATopics suggested so far are infra-red (Bob Berry) and camera tethering (Bob Berry)
Fri 05-Oct-18TBA
Fri 02-Nov-18TBA
Fri 30-Nov-18TBA
Fri 28-Dec-18TBADate may need to change
Fri 25-Jan-19TBA
Fri 22-Feb-19TBA
Fri 22-Mar-19TBA
Fri 19-Apr-19TBA
Fri 17-May-19TBA
Fri 14-Jun-19TBA

3 x 10: 3 people discuss up to 10 of their own images (15 minutes maximum) - why they took them, how they took them and any manipulation done to achieve the finished image.

2 x 5: 2 members swap 5 images out of the camera. Each then works on their own images and the images of the other member to produce a final image. The members then present and discuss what they did with the images and why.

Please note that there is a 20p charge for tea or coffee. Members are asked to wash up their own cups.

Useful links for Digital Photography

Category Subject Link Comment
CoursesInspiring Photograph Application form Thames Valley Network Study day
Courses and Tips Marc Levoy Lectures How cameras work and how to take good pictures using them
   Capturing Birds in Flight Tips on equipment, technique and composition
Image Manipulation  Faststone An image browser, converter and editor that supports all major graphic formats including raw files
PrintingCommercial printers DS Colour Labs Commercial printing, submit on the internet, receive prints in one or two days