Swindon U3A

Further Information for the Walking Group

Walking Programme for Nov 2017 - April 2018. Given dates are first Friday for A group the following Friday is B group who do the same walk. Contact walks.fri@swindonu3a.org.uk if you wish to join walk.
You may walk with either group (or both).

Date Walk Title & lengthMap & referenceleaderdescription
Fri 05-Jan-18Wroughton (Ellendune) 7+173/169 SU 146804Rob YeowellMeet/pk Ellendune Hall area. Walk Priors Hill, Clouts Wood, Red Barn, Uffcot, Barbary Castle, Hackpen Fm. Parsloe Fm. & Overtown.
Fri 12-Jan-18Wroughton (Ellendune) 7+173/169 SU 146804***NEEDED***Meet/pk Ellendune Hall area. Walk Priors Hill, Clouts Wood, Red Barn, Uffcot, Barbary Castle, Hackpen Fm. Parsloe Fm. & Overtown.
Fri 19-Jan-18Fairford 6163/45 SP 152013Steve HodgkinsMeet cp opp. church. Walk riverside path by River Churn, thru' Fairford Pk. to Quenington. Return via Donkeywell & Downs Copse.
Fri 26-Jan-18Fairford 6163/45 SP 152013Rob IlesMeet cp opp. church. Walk riverside path by River Churn, thru' Fairford Pk. to Quenington. Return via Donkeywell & Downs Copse.
Fri 02-Feb-18Stanton Country Park 6.2169 SU 177895Kevin MartinMeet/park Stanton Country Park. Walk Great Wood, village, Red Down, Wrag Barn, Bellingham Fm. Queenslains Farm.
Fri 09-Feb-18Stanton Country Park 6.2169 SU 177895Ann & David SharpeMeet/park Stanton Country Park. Walk Great Wood, village, Red Down, Wrag Barn, Bellingham Fm. Queenslains Farm.
Fri 16-Feb-18Purton 6.5173/169 SU 093877Sandra HorsnallMeet/pk. Village hall cp. Walk St Mary's School, Restrop, Ringsbury Camp, Battlelake Fm, Red Lodge, Coxhill & Parkgate Fms. Pavenhill.
Sat 17-Feb-18Annual Social & American Lunch 11.00 to 13.00 Croft Sports CentreGroup LeadersSocial get together to meet everyone & talk over anything relevant to the Group or whatever arises!
Fri 23-Feb-18Purton 6.5173/169 SU 093877Sandra HorsnallMeet/pk. Village hall cp. Walk St Mary's School, Restrop, Ringsbury Camp, Battlelake Fm, Red Lodge, Coxhill & Parkgate Fms. Pavenhill.
Fri 02-Mar-18Savernake/Cadley 7173/157 SU 198679Alan & Bonnie Milloy Meet/pk Postern Hill cp. Walk Browns Fm. Wansdyke, Rookery, Culleys Fm. Mud Lane & Cadley.
Fri 09-Mar-18Savernake/Cadley 7173/157 SU 198679***NEEDED***Meet/pk Postern Hill cp. Walk Browns Fm. Wansdyke, Rookery, Culleys Fm. Mud Lane & Cadley.
Fri 16-Mar-18Buscot/Lechlade 6163/170 SU 231977Var & Liam GriffinMeet/pk Buscot Village. Walk Buscot Lock, Thames Path & Little London, Round House, Inglesham & Buscot Wick
Fri 23-Mar-18Buscot/Lechlade 6163/170 SU 231977Teresa StroudMeet/pk Buscot Village. Walk Buscot Lock, Thames Path & Little London, Round House, Inglesham & Buscot Wick
Fri 30-Mar-18Ogbourne St George. GOOD FRIDAY 6.5174/157 SU 204741Rob HintonMeet/park Old Chase Rd by Earthline. Walk Bytham Fm. Ogbourne Maizey, Drove Barn, Gallops, Ogbourne St Andrew, Southend.
Fri 06-Apr-18Ogbourne St George. GOOD FRIDAY 6.5174/157 SU 204741Barrie & Jackie MissenMeet/park Old Chase Rd by Earthline. Walk Bytham Fm. Ogbourne Maizey, Drove Barn, Gallops, Ogbourne St Andrew, Southend.
Fri 13-Apr-18Town Walk (Joint)TBATBA
Fri 20-Apr-18Coach Walk (Joint)TBATBA

Useful links for Walking

Category Subject Link Comment