Swindon U3A

Further Information for the Walking Group

Walking Programme for Oct 2019 - Apr 2020. Given dates are first Friday for A group the following Friday is B group who do the same walk. Contact walks.fri@swindonu3a.org.uk if you wish to join walk.
You may walk with either group (or both).

Date Walk Title & lengthMap & referenceleaderdescription
Fri 06-Dec-19Wroughton 6 miles173/169 SU 145806Rob YeowellMeet Ellendune Car Park. Walk Clouts Wood, Red Barn, Westmead Farm
Fri 13-Dec-19Wroughton 6 miles173/169 SU 145806Veronica/Jean/AlmuttMeet Ellendune Car Park. Walk Clouts Wood, Red Barn, Westmead Farm
Fri 20-Dec-19Broome Manor 6+ miles173/169 SU 163822Richard HailstoneMeet/park at Broome Manor Golf Course car park (away from Club House) – you choose the walk.
Fri 27-Dec-19Broome Manor 6+ miles173/169 SU 163822Rosemary SavageMeet/park at Broome Manor Golf Course car park (away from Club House) – you choose the walk.
Fri 03-Jan-20Russley Down 6.5 miles174/170 SU 232813Ginney EvansMeet/park Foxhill Radio Mast. Walk Russley Down, Foxhill, Lammy Down
Fri 10-Jan-20Russley Down 6.5 miles174/170 SU 232813Meet/park Foxhill Radio Mast. Walk Russley Down, Foxhill, Lammy Down
Fri 17-Jan-20Avebury 6.5 miles173/157 SU 098697Malcolm WoodsMeet/park Avebury NT car park. Walk Winterbourne Monkton, Mill Lane, Monkton Down and Avebury.
Fri 24-Jan-20Avebury 6.5 miles173/157 SU 098697Sandra HorsnallMeet/park Avebury NT car park. Walk Winterbourne Monkton, Mill Lane, Monkton Down and Avebury.
Fri 31-Jan-20Chilton Foliat/Hungerford 6 miles174/158 SU 316705John CoppenPark layby on B4192. Walk Stew Close, Freeman’s Marsh, Hungerford, Leverton Lane, Chilton Lodge.
Fri 07-Feb-20Chilton Foliat/Hungerford 6 miles174/158 SU 316705Martin SavagePark layby on B4192. Walk Stew Close, Freeman’s Marsh, Hungerford, Leverton Lane, Chilton Lodge.
Fri 14-Feb-20Lyneham 7 miles173/169 SU 020793Robert HintonPark by White Horse pub. Walk Bowls Lane, Trow Lane, Black Dog Cottages, Tockenham.
Fri 21-Feb-20Lyneham 7 miles173/169 SU 020793Park by White Horse pub. Walk Bowls Lane, Trow Lane, Black Dog Cottages, Tockenham.
Fri 28-Feb-20Castle Combe 6 miles173/156 ST 846777David & Jackie HewittPark in car park off B4039. Walk Golf Course, Nettleton Mill House, Ford, Long Dean
Fri 06-Mar-20Castle Combe 6 miles173/156 ST 846777Park in car park off B4039. Walk Golf Course, Nettleton Mill House, Ford, Long Dean
Fri 13-Mar-20Ramsbury 6+157/174 SU 275717Kevin MartinPark near the Bell in Ramsbury . Walk Love’s Copse, Southward Down, Southern Copse, Holbrook.
Fri 20-Mar-20Ramsbury 6+157/174 SU 275717Park near the Bell in Ramsbury . Walk Love’s Copse, Southward Down, Southern Copse, Holbrook.
Fri 27-Mar-20Coach Walk - Fonthill to Fovant 6.5 milesST 933 317, Fonthill Lake.Tony BettleyCoach to Fonthill Park. Walk Tisbury (loo stop), Upper Chicksgrove, Chicksgrove, Sutton Mandeville to Fovant with a view of FOVANT BADGES
Fri 03-Apr-20Town Walk
Fri 10-Apr-20South Cerney 6.5 miles163/169 SU 071971Steve HodgkinsMeet off Spine Road by Cotswold Outdoor store. Walk Cerney Wick. Old Railway Track, Humpback Lock.
Fri 17-Apr-20South Cerney 6.5 miles163/169 SU 071971Meet off Spine Road by Cotswold Outdoor store. Walk Cerney Wick. Old Railway Track, Humpback Lock.

Useful links for Walking

Category Subject Link Comment