Swindon U3A

Further Information for the Walking Group

Walking Programme for Apl 2019 - Oct 2019. Given dates are first Friday for A group the following Friday is B group who do the same walk. Contact walks.fri@swindonu3a.org.uk if you wish to join walk.
You may walk with either group (or both).

Date Walk Title & lengthMap & referenceleaderdescription
Fri 14-Jun-19Greenham Common SU 499650Alan MilloyPark/meet at old control tower at grid ref (post code RG19 8BZ). Walk round old airfield. No styles, no hills!
Fri 21-Jun-19Moulton Hill Park173/169 SU 118879 Ginney EvansMeet Mouldon Hill Country Park. Walk Purton, Lydiard Millicent, and Shaw Forest.
Fri 28-Jun-19Moulton Hill Park173/169 SU 118879 Ken KimberMeet Mouldon Hill Country Park. Walk Purton, Lydiard Millicent, and Shaw Forest.
Fri 05-Jul-19Kempsford163/169 SU 161965Richard HailstoneMeet/park by church. Walk Hannington Bridge, Thames path, Castle Eaton, Marston Meysey, Dunfield.
Fri 12-Jul-19Kemspsford163/169 SU 161965 *** NEEDED ***Meet/park by church. Walk Hannington Bridge, Thames path, Castle Eaton, Marston Meysey, Dunfield.
Fri 19-Jul-19Chilton Foliat174/158 SU 316705Kerry CroasdellMeet/park layby at Chilton Foliat. Walk Crooked Soley, Membury, Ragnal, Bottom Copse
Fri 26-Jul-19Chilton Foliat174/158 SU 316705Rosemary SavageMeet/park layby at Chilton Foliat. Walk Crooked Soley, Membury, Ragnal, Bottom Copse
Fri 02-Aug-19Chute Causeway (Scot's Poor)184/131 SU 284562Kevin MartinMeet/park on verge of Byway. Walk New Zealand Fm, Hiipenscombe Bottom, Tidcombe & Wexcombe Down.
Fri 09-Aug-19Chute Causeway (Scot's Poor)184/131 SU 284562 ***NEEDED***Meet/park on verge of Byway. Walk New Zealand Fm, Hiipenscombe Bottom, Tidcombe & Wexcombe Down.
Fri 16-Aug-19Ampney Crucis163/169 SP 068017Steve HodgkinsMeet/park loop road by Crown of Crucis pub on A417. Walk Dudley Fm, Hilcot End, Ampney Knowle, Barnsley. Return via Ampney Riding & Ampney village.
Fri 23-Aug-19Ampney Crucis163/169 SP 068017 ***NEEDED***Meet/park loop road by Crown of Crucis pub on A417. Walk Dudley Fm, Hilcot End, Ampney Knowle, Barnsley. Return via Ampney Riding & Ampney village.
Fri 30-Aug-19Stanford in the Vale164/170 SU 340937 Robert HintonMeet/park Stanford Village Hall. Walk Hatford, Stanford Place, Wickwood Fm, Shellingford, Stanford.
Fri 06-Sep-19Stanford in the Vale164/170 SU 340937 *** NEEDED ***Meet/park Stanford Village Hall. Walk Hatford, Stanford Place, Wickwood Fm, Shellingford, Stanford.
Fri 13-Sep-19Minchinhampton/Amberley162/168 SO 085106David & Jackie HewittMeet/park Amberley War Memorial. WalkInchbrook, Selsey Common, Rooksmoor, Rodborough Common,
Fri 27-Sep-19Oliver's Castle 173/157 SU 019672Malcolm WoodsMeet/park Smallgrain cp. Walk Heddington, Beacon Hiil, Oliver's Castle, Roundway.
Fri 04-Oct-19Oliver's Castle 175/157 SU 019672Martin SavageMeet/park Smallgrain cp. Walk Heddington, Beacon Hiil, Oliver's Castle, Roundway.
Fri 11-Oct-19COACH WALK - Chepstow Castle to Tintern Abbey. finish at pub/cafe.David & Jackie Hewitt
Fri 18-Oct-19TOWN WALK - TBA

Useful links for Walking

Category Subject Link Comment